Archive | April 1, 2019

Lexington Medical Center Appoints New Board Officers

Lexington Medical Center is pleased to announce that Dr. Tripp Jones is the new chair of the Lexington County Health Services District board of directors. Appointed by board members at the February meeting, Dr. Jones will lead the 21-member board for the next year.

Dr. Tripp Jones

Dr. Jones is a retired oncologist who worked with Lexington Medical Center for more than 30 years. He served as the hospital’s Chief of Staff from 1986 to 1988 and served as chair of its Cancer Committee for 24 years.

He graduated from Clemson University and earned his medical degree from the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston. Dr. Jones completed an internal medicine residency at the University of Florida in Jacksonville and completed fellowships in hematology and oncology there.

Dr. Jones is the first physician to serve as board chair in the hospital’s 48-year history.

In addition to Dr. Jones, the other executive officers on the board are Donny Burkett, Vice Chair; Bruce Burnett, Secretary; and Richard Westbrook, Immediate Past Chair.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mr. Burkett is a CPA with Burkett, Burkett & Burkett, CPA, PA, in West Columbia.

Mr. Burnett is a retired finance lead from the South Carolina Budget and Control Board.

And Mr. Westbrook is an executive vice president at South State Bank in Columbia.