Archive | Uncategorized RSS feed for this section

Michael L. Nunnery, MD, Moves to Lexington Family Practice Ballentine

Lexington Medical Center is pleased to announce that Michael L. Nunnery, MD, has moved to Lexington Family Practice Ballentine and is accepting new patients.

Michael L. Nunnery, MD

A summa cum laude graduate of the University of South Carolina with a bachelor’s degree in biology, Dr. Nunnery, earned his medical degree from the USC School of Medicine in Columbia. He then completed his family medicine residency there, serving as chief resident at USC Family Practice.

Board certified by the American Board of Family Medicine, Dr. Nunnery has cared for Lexington Family Practice patients of all ages for nearly 15 years. He most recently treated patients at Lexington Family Practice Northeast.

Dr. Nunnery proudly joins the board-certified physicians, physician assistant and nurse practitioner at Lexington Family Practice Ballentine to provide comprehensive, continuous care in the community his family calls home. In addition to well visits and same-day sick and urgent appointments, the practice offers in-office laboratory services and imaging, including X-rays and CT scans.

Lexington Family Practice Ballentine
1846 Dutch Fork Road
Irmo, SC 29063
(803) 781-5200

Two Years Later: Lexington Medical Center’s Clinical Expansion

Lexington Medical Center is more than two years into the largest hospital expansion in South Carolina history. From more patient rooms and parking to educational space and enhanced dining options, this three-year project will help LMC continue to meet the health care needs of patients and their families.

Construction of the new patient tower, 955-space parking garage and central energy plant is progressing according to schedule. With continued good weather and timely equipment and material delivery, contractors anticipate completing the new patient tower by March 2019 – less than one year from now!

The new parking garage is complete and open for assigned employee use only. More than 300 employees park there each day, which has opened additional surface spaces to accommodate patients and family members visiting Lexington Medical Park 2, Lexington Medical Park 3 and the hospital. The new central energy plant is operational and providing conditioned air to portions of the new tower to allow for drywall finishing, painting and completing other details.

Importantly, Lexington Medical Center will be renaming its towers. The current North Tower will become the East Tower, and the new tower will be known as the North Tower. The current North Tower Entrance is also changing. The hospital will identify this entrance as its Main Entrance.

Recent Accomplishments in the Clinical Expansion:
– All interior framing is complete from the Lower Level through the 10th Floor.
– SCE&G permanent power and gas connection to the building is complete.
– All mechanical equipment units (chillers, boilers, pumps, etc.) are installed and turned on in the central utility building.
– Air handling units are turned on and providing air conditioning to the Lower Level, Ground Floor and 1st Floor.
– Sheetrock hanging is complete on the Lower Level through the 6th Floor.
– Cabinetry is installed on the Lower Level through the 1st Floor.
– Site retaining walls for the plaza area and water feature are in progress.
– Brick veneer and architectural precast elements are being installed on all elevations of the new North Tower.
– Curtainwall glass system has been installed on the east and west bridges.
– Phase 2 of the Sterile Processing renovation is complete, and the department occupied the space on May 14.
– New staff lounges for the East Tower are complete on floors 4, 6 and 7. LMC had to relocate these staff lounges to accommodate the new connecting bridges on each floor of the North Tower.
– Corridor carpet for the East Tower has been replaced on floors 4, 5, 6 and 7 prior to connecting the two towers at project completion.

Lexington Medical Center Welcomes William P. Grimes, MD

Lexington Medical Center proudly welcomes William P. Grimes, MD, to its network of care. Dr. Grimes will practice at Lexington Family Practice Northeast.

A Midlands native, Dr. Grimes graduated cum laude from Furman University in Greenville, South Carolina, and earned his medical degree from the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston. He then completed his residency at Madigan Army Medical Center in Fort Lewis, Washington, serving as chief resident.

After completing his residency, Dr. Grimes began practicing outpatient medicine at Moncrief Army Community Hospital at Fort Jackson in Columbia, South Carolina. He most recently served as the officer in charge of its largest primary clinic, as well as a primary care behavioral health champion, an educator for child and family behavioral health system primary care managers and an executive medicine physician. Board certified by the American Board of Family Medicine, Dr. Grimes has additional certifications in basic, advanced cardiac, pediatric and advanced trauma life support, among others. He also holds the rank of major in the United States Army and has received numerous military awards, including the Army Commendation Medal, the Army Achievement Medal, the National Defense Service Medal, the Korea Defense Service Medal, the Global War on Terror Service Medal and the National Service Medal.

Dr. Grimes joins the board-certified physicians and physician assistant at Lexington Family Practice Northeast to provide comprehensive care for the entire family. In addition to well visits and same-day sick and urgent appointments, the practice offers on-site X-rays services, laboratory services and digital CAT/CT scans.

Dr. Grimes is accepting new patients.

Lexington Family Practice Northeast
76 Polo Road
Columbia, SC 29223
(803) 699-7255