Archive | June, 2009

Lexington Medical Center is "Best Hospital" 10 Years in a Row

Lexington Medical Center

This morning we learned that readers of The State newspaper have once again voted Lexington Medical Center as “Best Hospital” in the Midlands of South Carolina in its “Best Of” competition. We have now received this accolade for *10* years in a row. The State will run a special feature to congratulate the winners on Sunday, July 19th.

Mike Biediger Celebrates 20 Years with LMC

LMC President & CEO Mike BiedigerMike Biediger, Lexington Medical Center’s President and CEO, is celebrating his 20th anniversary with our hospital. The board of directors has honored him for his leadership and service with a resolution recognizing his outstanding contributions to the citizens of Lexington County. His work and leadership have helped enhance the delivery of health care in our community.

Here is an excerpt from the resolution:

“WHEREAS: Mr. Biediger has been an integral part of Lexington Medical Center’s leadership for two decades; as executive vice president and chief operating officer from 1989 to 1996, and as president and chief executive officer from 1996 to today and

WHEREAS: Mr. Biediger has demonstrated an excellent understanding of the health care industry and needs of our citizens, has focused on bringing important technology and services to our hospital and has created an unparalleled employee culture of caring, dedication and teamwork and

WHEREAS: Mr. Biediger has envisioned and put into practice a successful plan for strategic growth and a comprehensive network of care to build a positive future for Lexington Medical Center and its community.

We, the Board of Directors of the Lexington County Health Services District, Inc., wish it to be known to all persons that we honor Michael J. Biediger for his dedication and service to the people of our community.”

Congratulations to Mr. Biediger, and we thank him for his service.

Lexington Medical Center Begins Summer "Partners Program"

Particiants in the 2009 Partners Program at Lexington Medical Center

Lexington Medical Center is openings its doors to some of the brightest high school students in Lexington County for an intensive summer internship inside the hospital called the Partners Program.

“The goal is to give them an inside look at what they can expect in a health care career,” said Kelli Bennett, Workforce Coordinator at Lexington Medical Center. “It’s a glimpse into our world.”

More than 300 students applied to be part of the program. Sixty-five received spots. The students will focus on clinical training around the hospital and assist health care workers in areas including checking blood pressure, taking temperatures and feeding patients. In addition, they will tour hospital departments and attend classes where health professionals will speak with them about careers in medicine.

The Partners Program is divided into three, two-week sessions: June 15th – June 26th, July 6th – July 17th and July 20th – July 31st. For some students, it’s a first summer job. Each student will receive a stipend upon completion of the program.

Dr. Brandon Brown

Dr. Brandon Brown

The Partners Program is in its 19th year. One accomplished graduate of the program is Dr. Brandon Brown, a cardiologist with Columbia Cardiology in West Columbia. Brown was in the Partners Program in 1991 as a Lexington High School student. A short time later, he decided he wanted to be a doctor. “It confirmed what would be a good career choice for me.”

Participants this year are from Airport High School – Yajiara Ramirez; from Batesburg-Leesville High School – Jeffrey Caughman, Rodney Price; from Brookland Cayce High School – Kirsten Roof, Kaitlyn Salak; from Chapin High School – Barrett Bradham, Alainah Farrell, Alexandra Lopez, Peyton Player, Alexis Powlas and Haley Spearman; from Dutch Fork High School – Marc-Olivier Blais, Brittney Oliver, Nidah Rizvi, Benjamin Wagner and Gloria Wang; from Gilbert High School — Amber Anderson, Brittany Burgess, Amanda Cochcroft, Marla Cotterman, Anne, Renalds and Anna Thompson; from Irmo High School – Erica Baskin, Amanda Boyeson, Blanche Chisholm, Korynn Duke, Miriam Gadjiko, Annisyah Hand, Martha Hutchinson, Nidha Khan, Chemere Kimpson, Madison Owens, Priya Purohit, Krysten Simpson; from Lexington High School – Kaitlyn Bretz, Brianna Byrd, Danielle Callari, Chelsea Dupree, Haleigh Fox, Caroline Halferty, Heather Hiltz, Jennifer Hydrick, William Moore, Rebekah Rush, Nathan Sairam, Emily Shull, Alexandra Smith, Spencer Sox, Courtney Stoltz, Garrett Webb, Sarah Wynne and Genevieve Wyrick; from Pelion High School – Andrea Beason, Crystal Caine, Cheyenne Crim, Kayla Dooley and Courtney Shumpert; from Swansea High School – Nicole Sturkie and Alexis Tankersley; from White Knoll High School – Kali Bishop, Kenneth Cox, Christina Doty, Jordan Ellis and Morgan Pittman; and home schooler Grace Stonecypher.